Reading

It’s been a few days. I totally missed last weeks writing challenge on terribleminds, shame on me. It has also been a bit since I wrote here so I thought I would do a post on reading and listening.

My younger brother and I have been talking about books lately. The release of several that we were excited about kind of got me back in to reading. Having a full time job, being single, and having a house and what not to look after I had really felt like my time for reading was limited. Because of that I have joined audible.com just in November seriously. I had payed for it for longer and had a little stack of credits saved up. Well I burned through them pretty quickly after I found I could put the app on my android and listen at work (I have a mostly manual/solitary labor type of job). Thanks to that I have ‘read’ more in the last 4month than in the last 4 years! Of course once you get back in to it it’s like  a drug. 😮

I started with ‘rereading’ (see listening) some of the Wheel of Time books, but I get bored easily and with every book in excess of 30 hours long I only got half way through book four and decided I could not listen to one more minute of Rand al’Thor, plus the books get reaaaaaally detailed in the midsection and unless its your first time or you love them super lots it gets to be a bit of a slog.

Anway, I hopped over and ‘read’ the George R.R. Martin Game of Thrones series. I know more 30+ hour books I’m such a glutton for punishment. Anyway about middle of the sixth book I was super tired of Mr. Martin abusing his characters so I still haven’t finished that one.  I probably wont until the next one comes out. I don’t fancy a two year cliff hanger and I’m sufficiently peeved with all the characters at the point I’m at that it feels like a nice place to rest.

After that I got in to the Iron Druid Series by Kevin Hearne which I highly recommend. They aren’t so long as these epic fantasies I was in and they are full of humor and wit. And Deities. Still not ready to go back and tackle the epics I took a break and ‘read’ the Harper Hall Trilogy by Anne McCaffery, again highly recommend, especially if you like dragons. I would say read Dragonsdawn first (its on the list!) its more of a sci-fi fantasy crossover. I dunno but its good stuff.

Just about the time I have run out of things to ‘read’ my brother tells me there is this awesome series by Steven Erikson and I should read Gardens of the Moon. Well I tried to listen to it and no. can. do. There are too many people running around with similar names and absolutely no transition from one character and place to another. I’m not saying its not a good story I am just saying that listening to it instead of paper and ink reading it is a no go. My brother tells me the written one isn’t too much better, but I will be able to see the name spellings at least, and can leaf back through pages if need be.

That venture being a failure after only four chapters I was now out of things to ‘read’. Astonishingly audibles ‘things you might also like’ link actually came up with a winner (I’m picky about reading things. If it doesn’t grab me in the first pages it becomes and impossibility to read). It gave me Assassins Apprentice by Robin Hobb. This lady is working her way up in my reading esteem! I (in less than a week) devoured her assassin trilogy and am now actually reading the Tawny Man trilogy (because for some damn reason you can only buy the audiobook in Britain) while at the same time ‘reading’ her Rainwild trilogy. It has never before happened to me that I am engrossed in two books by the same author at the same time. It’s crazy! Cleaning or driving or working I listen to the one and when I have a still moment I read the other. It’s great. Although I realize I’m hurtling toward nothing to read again very quickly 😦

I will make no bones about it that I like fantasy the best. If I’m looking for something to read I will be looking in the fantasy section. I also like reading manga/manwha but again with the fantasy/sci fi/supernatural vibe. My favorite author is Robert Jordan. He long ago edged out Anne McCaffery although she still is a close second. I don’t really like her sons work though, the heart just isn’t there. I guess the same could be said of the final Wheel of Time books as done with Brandon Sanderson. To each their own though.

Now if you want to talk individual books I would go with Ender’s Game as my all time favorite. Yeah I know not even fantasy right? It’s what I get for being a eclectic. Being an eclectic who claims to seek our fantasy I have, oddly perhaps, some non-fantasy on my you should read list. So here is a list of things that I have titled accordingly.

Things to Read at some time in your life, and then maybe reread at another time

1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (sci-fi) A hard story, but a good one.

2. The Eye of the World By Robert Jordan (fantasy) Fantasy at its gleaming best.

3. The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck (fiction) This is a hard read and a terrible ending, but there are some books out there that should be read, and this is one.

4. The Crystal Shard by R.A. Salvatore (fiction) He would probably be my 3rd favorite author. His series are also good but this was his first that I read and a good place to begin.

5. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien (fantasy) A book that makes everything possible

6. Dragonsdawn by Anne McCaffery (sci-fi) Its starts as sci-fi but then the rest of the books (mostly) would properly be called fantasy. Unique!

7. Assassins Apprentice by Robin Hobb (fantasy) She has a knack for storytelling!

8. The Host by Stephenie Meyer  (sci-fi?) I really don’t know the category, but its about aliens. Don’t be put off by Twilight if you dislike it. I feel this is a much better story!

9. The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay (fiction) A book that made a big impact on me when I was in junior high, made my worries a little smaller in scheme of things.

10. Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin (fantasy) Really he’s super mean to his characters. If some bad shit can happen to them, it will.

Authors you should read. It doesn’t matter what.

1. Edgar Allen Poe

2. Robert Frost

Books I would NEVER recommend

1. Ivanhoe

Best Books I can’t bring myself to read but probably should

1. Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy- I liked the movie though 😮

Well all that being said, let me know some good books you have read!

Leave a Reply

